Human biology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Brynhilde

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hullo,

I am a reformed lawyer seeking to make a career change. My goal is (was?) toward the MSW as the fastest way to get licensed for psychotherapy practice. Obviously I have had to do prerequisite coursework before I meet the standards for consideration.

The psychology courses were no problem. Even statistics, fear of which pushed me from psychology to law in the first place.

Now I am absolutely Freaking Out over anatomy and physiology, the last course I need to take before applying to the social work program. I have never taken a biology course before, not even in high school. I am very squeamish and we have to dissect things. I do words and music - this is as far as one can get from either. :scared:

Any advice or words of wisdom? I am very, very close to throwing in the towel, even though the first incremental goal is in sight.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Although I've certainly seen/heard of biology requirements as a pre-req before.. but one that requires dissection? Really? I'd check into that and see if a course for non-majors (aka, no dissection required) will suffice.

Well, yes, Pingouin, there is a human biology course for non-majors. Unfortunately, someone I know under other circumstances is the only professor who ever teaches it. I thought about it and thought about it but just could not get over my issues with a dual relationship. It would just be too weird and uncomfortable for me, if not both of us.

Way, way off topic, but love your screen name. It brings to mind a Warner Bros cartoon in which we learned that "Pingouins are practically chicken!" I hope that is what you were aiming for.

Members don't see this ad :)