[HS] Community College Route

khatz

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I figure I would ask pre-meds this question because I can't find too much research on this route. Currently a senior in HS, contemplating the CC pre-med route to transfer because of the money I'll save.

I will probably get accepted to at least one in-state 4-year but just in case I don't or if my parents get a change of heart I want to know how to take the CC route.

- How many pre-reqs should I take at a CC? At what point would my chances be compromised for taking too many pre-reqs at a CC?
- When should I transfer, after 1 year, 2 years?
- Do you recommend it? Looking back, if you were in my position, would you have went to uni or CC? Also, let's say my local CC gives out easy A's (a few of my friends have 3.7-4.0 GPAs after just finishing their first year), how would you feel knowing that?

Members don't see this ad.

I am now a sophmore in undergrad and I had this same question when I was a senior in highschool and had to find out the hard way. I highly recommend going straight to a 4 year university if it's possible. The way things worked out for me and what I was told is that I need to take all of my pre-req's at a university. If you're a science major you'll want Chem 1 and 2 under your belt by freshman year. My CC Chem 1 and 2 did not transfer to my university so I am taking them now. I am falling behind because I need to take these upper level science courses that I do not have the prereq's for such as Chem 1 and 2. Also you generally take easier classes freshman year and that gives you time to learn things such as living on your own and you can learn from all your mistakes without it costing you too much damamge. May be different for some other people, but that's how it played out for me.

I figure I would ask pre-meds this question because I can't find too much research on this route. Currently a senior in HS, contemplating the CC pre-med route to transfer because of the money I'll save.