This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DDKLA

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I'm a first-year dental student. I received an HPSL loan (amount: 16 k) as part of my financial aid package. I also received direct unsubsidized loans aka Direct Stafford Loans (amount: ~45 k) and a hardship waiver of 3 k. My tuition and expenses are ~ 53 k for this year. I am hesitant to accept the HPSL loan that is at a lower interest rate (5%) because I read that HPSL loans are not eligible for Public Service Loan Forgiveness (PSLF) unless consolidated. I do plan to pursue PSLF. I am not familiar at all with consolidating loans and not sure about the pros and cons are. Do you think my best option is to take the HPSL (16 k) + direct unsub (34 k) + hardship waiver (3 k)? or is it better to take only 5 k of HPSL+ direct unsub (the whole amount of 45 k)+ hardship waiver (3 k)?

Thanks in advance for your help

*Note: I also read that HPSL loans are NOT eligible for income-driven repayment plans

Members don't see this ad.

Take the loan. It's interest free until you graduate, so there's no reason not to take it. You can park it into a high interest savings account, invest it, etc. At the end of dental school, you can pay it back in full and not worry about it

Reactions: 1 user
If you only put 16k into a high interest savings account, you'll get ~$653 by the end of dental school. If you put all your HPL money into a high interest account every year, you'll walk away with a few extra thousand dollars under your belt when you graduate
Screenshot_20200717-113716_Samsung Internet.jpg

Members don't see this ad :)
If you only put 16k into a high interest savings account, you'll get ~$653 by the end of dental school. If you put all your HPL money into a high interest account every year, you'll walk away with a few extra thousand dollars under your belt when you graduateView attachment 313096