Howdy! Newbie here...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Runtita

Goddess on the Move
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, all!

I'm applying to KCOM for 2004. I am a research coordinator and a mom with 2 kids. I have an MS in Biology from 1996 and just got a wild hair two years ago and decided to try for med school.

I took the MCAT Saturday and I was the fogey in the room...at 32!

It's nice to be here, and the site and people seem great. I hope to get to know everyone better. :)

Members don't see this ad.

Welcome. I too am an old-foggy looking to get into med school, I'm 30, taking the Mcat this august, and hoping to get into TCOM. Is KCOM the only school you'll apply to? I ask only b/c I'm torn between how many schools to apply to, potentially moving, and out-of-state tuition (wow!). Yet, I feel like if I only apply to TCOM, then I'll dramatically limit my options for entrance this year.

Members don't see this ad :)
Yep, I'm only trying for KCOM. I live in NE MO and we like it here. My strategy is to keep applying until I get into KCOM. ;) Plus, I work there. (shhh!!!!!)

If you're going to apply to only one school, just be sure that you have all of your ducks in a row...good GPA/MCAT, get apps in early, good LORs, etc.

I only applied to OSU and it worked out well for me...it is risky, though.

Dr.Mom,

Do you know if OSU has any programs that would allow a TX resident to pay OSU's in-state resident tuition (maybe into the 2nd+ years)?

I know SW here in Texas has a program for it, I was just wondering if you'd ever heard of anything like that for OSU??

Thanks a Million,
DcK

DcK

I'm afraid there is no such thing. To get in-state tuition you have to either:

1. work full time in OK for at least 12 months prior to school starting
2. marry an OK resident