how to write a literature review?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tygacil5

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I've recently met with a hospital-based Respirologist/Pulmonologist and he agreed to take me on to do a literature review for pulmonology. I'm fairly new to the field (I'm a third year biology student) and had only taken one 3rd year general physiology course as by background. Can you experts out there give me insight into how I should conduct a literature review and what types of book/literature I should be reading to write one?

Thanks in advance. =D

Members don't see this ad.

A literature review is a structured account of a topic area that lays the foundation for a research effort. It must be comprehensive, current and lucid. Of most importance it must be critical, meaning that YOU must add comment or explanation to what you have found - in short a review is not a recitation of what has been found but and exposition of it.

It follows that from a structural point of view you need a themed list of sub-topics using headings, subheading, paragraphs, bullets, tables, diagrams and so on in order to get a coherent and lucid discourse on your chosen subject area. This is not a trivial matter and you must expect to go over it many, many times before it is completed.

If you are new to an area or even if you are experienced my starting point would be to find out which 'ordinary' text books are usually recommended for this area. This might mean going right back to basics but don't shirk this because any weakness in the basics will be magnified later on. Once you have mastered this level then you are ready to move on to Journals or other kinds of primary sources.