How to Study for Orals?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

relentless11

Going broke and loving it
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there, I'm wondering if anyone has any tips for studying for orals. Although everyone has a different method, I am just curious if there are any other methods beyond just reading, and having practice runs with fellow classmates (and faculty). My committee members have defined where I should focus, so I'm planning to read up on the material first, make flashcards to test myself, and then read some more...over and over and over.

The questions can include clinically oriented questions (I have a clinically based PhD thesis), so are there any other resources which I can tap into? USMLE Step I/II? Any advice is appreciated...thanks again!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi there, I'm wondering if anyone has any tips for studying for orals. Although everyone has a different method, I am just curious if there are any other methods beyond just reading, and having practice runs with fellow classmates (and faculty). My committee members have defined where I should focus, so I'm planning to read up on the material first, make flashcards to test myself, and then read some more...over and over and over.

The questions can include clinically oriented questions (I have a clinically based PhD thesis), so are there any other resources which I can tap into? USMLE Step I/II? Any advice is appreciated...thanks again!
WHen you say oral exam, you're talking about your defense, right? Why are you studying for that? You know the material better than anyone, including your advisor. You did the project - how can they tell you that you were wrong?