How to reconcile critical skepticicsm with OMM philosophy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

paramed2premed

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I will be applying to an osteo school in June, but I am wondering how to handle a certain issue in the interview. I would appreciate any thoughts from current students.

Part of what attracts me to medicine is the critical attitude that successful physicians must evince. I am partial to reading studies, evaluating evidence, understanding the limits of research, etc. I am an ACLS instructor, and I enjoy teaching the part of the curriculum that involves the ranking of the quality of studies supporting various interventions.

I am concerned that my natural skepticism will not play well with the advocates of OMM, and my attitude while be viewed as a detriment in school, or, God help me, during an interview.

No flames; I work in an ED with DOs, I don't view them as any less of a doctor. I REALLY want to go to a certain osteo school, and I potentially have to turn down an MD school to go there. Hence my concern about this potential conflict.

How have other skeptical/critical personalities handled the potential conflict with "strong" OMM theory? Is there a conflict? Can tempers flare?

Members don't see this ad.

I wouldn't worry about it. Not everyone is in DO school because of OMT. In fact there are some people who have no plans on using it. OMT is one of those things that you cant really put hard numbers on. Much of it is objective. You'll just have to see that it works as you perform it on patients.

The only way to rid yourself of skepticism is to actually help real people with it. You'll probably still be skeptical when you're learning it in lab because the people you work with are your classmates, and very few of them have the kind of problems that OMT is designed to take care of.