How to move past "failure" and into destiny; A Retrospective Review

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BeautyandtheMD

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone! My name is A and I am a second year medical student at an accredited school in the US. I recall a time when I was applying to medical school and really relied on some of the things that I saw posted here on SDN. One recurring theme that I saw however, was that the majority of the individuals on here had near perfect resumes with no major blemishes. I thought that it was unfortunate that my record did not look like theirs. My gpa in undergrad was in the 2s. Shoot, I almost didn't even graduate on time. My MCAT score was incredibly sub-par, and honestly, ALL of my pre-med professors told me to reconsider. But I pressed on, and here I am today...in my second year. I can't say that life has been smooth since getting into medical school. I've had countless family deaths, an abusive relationship, surgery, and *dunnn dunn dunnnn*, I failed my first year of medical school. A couple of months ago, I couldn't even imagine writing my truths for the entire world to read, but I think it is necessary that I do this for that 1 person who feels like he/she is alone and all hope is lost. I could write for days about my story and how I went from struggling at the bottom of my class, to excelling in everything that I do, but my purpose here is to foster a safe space for people who are struggling with "failure" (I put failure in quotations because I do believe that these kinds of things are lessons, and not setbacks). I have a blog that I have wholly dedicated to telling my story and interacting with individuals who might need the motivation or support to keep going.

Good luck to all of you. You are all truly special and destined for greatness!

-A

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: 1 user