How to improve as a 3rd cycle Reapp?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

galbijjim

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I wasn't sure where to post this but I am looking for some advice and areas on where and how to improve my application. I am an ORM Texas resident who went to a good instate public state school that graduated in 2019. My cGPA is 3.8X and my sGPA is 3.8X. My MCAT is a 505 -> 510 with no subsection lower than a 126.

In lieu of not hearing back from any schools with the 505, I started studying for the MCAT again at the end of 2019 and was scheduled to take it in March but COVID-19 ended up pushing it back numerous times and I was not able to take it until June -- ended up getting a 510. I was complete at Texas Schools between the last week of August and first week of September. All OOS schools complete in September.

Summary since graduating: improved MCAT, held 3 part time jobs (currently a math & science tutor), added 100 clinical hours

Other stuff:

Started a Clinical Service Org and served as President for 2 years
2 Cancer Summer Research internships and 2 years as a research assistant at my school (~2000 hours with no pubs)
50 Hours of primary care physician shadowing
400 hours of clinical volunteering (psych hospital and regular hospital)
150 hours of nonclinical volunteering (split equally between food fundraisers and disadvantaged elementary school volunteering)
Other ECs include a business club and a food club

I'm wondering what might be the cause for no responses? I realize that I applied late for Texas and that is very important but perhaps there is something else? I'm worried that because of COVID I was unable to add anything super meaningful to my application. I'm in the midst of applying to go back to my alma mater as a research assistant in the time being but am worried that I won't be able to get any service hours due to what's going on right now.