How to get the most out of my PGY1?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Papichulooo_92

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, this post is more geared to seek advice from current residents, graduate residents, and any RPDs. As a newly matched resident, I am looking forward to making the MOST out of my residency in order to be prepared for any possible career endeavors (ex. PGY2).

What are some ways I can excel in my program aside from 'running through' the required residency curriculum? My goal is to avoid wasting time trying to 'figure out' what I should be doing and go in with a game plan.

Feel free to comment things you have completed, witnessed, or wanted to achieve such as projects, presentations, leadership positions, research, etc.

Hopefully this post can be filled with a lot of great ideas and we can ALL use this as a reference point to help us achieve higher opportunities. I encourage those to make accounts and comment!

Also best of luck to anyone still going through the process! May destiny forever be in your favor.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hey everyone, this post is more geared to seek advice from current residents, graduate residents, and any RPDs. As a newly matched resident, I am looking forward to making the MOST out of my residency in order to be prepared for any possible career endeavors (ex. PGY2).

What are some ways I can excel in my program aside from 'running through' the required residency curriculum? My goal is to avoid wasting time trying to 'figure out' what I should be doing and go in with a game plan.

Feel free to comment things you have completed, witnessed, or wanted to achieve such as projects, presentations, leadership positions, research, etc.