PhD/PsyD How to get published

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

freeprozac

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have over four years of experience in academic research at different places, been on multiple projects and performed many tasks but never gotten my name on a paper. It is an incredibly annoying occurence and pretty sure it ended up costing me the PhD applications. Any advice is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

It depends on the level of contribution you are making to the research, and that is likely to vary by the time spent in each lab since there are multiple. If you have been working in a lab for a length of time I would expect you to be able to take rather advanced roles in the lab. What have you been doing, have you talked to PIs about doing independent work as part of the projects you have been part of, did you wver talk about wanting to publish and volunteer to si whar waa needed, and have you been part of any products (posters)- a few questions to start.

Last edited:
I have over four years of experience in academic research at different places, been on multiple projects and performed many tasks but never gotten my name on a paper. It is an incredibly annoying occurence and pretty sure it ended up costing me the PhD applications. Any advice is appreciated.
I wouldn't have expectations unless you had an agreement about getting involved in publications. Labs vary a lot on how they handle it. Students in one lab I know of usually have to be there 1-2 years at least before they get added to something. The best remedy is to take initiative and do your own project - do a poster, learn something, seeks some mentorship, and try to get a first-author publication yourself.

Members don't see this ad :)