How to get Medical license in ireland

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kungfupanda

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I am a Indian medical student doing my final year in China.
I am planning to move to Ireland after studies as my boyfriend is from Ireland.
I was looking for informations in MCI website and obtained a general idea about the procedures. I presume I need to pass TRAS as I am a non-EU.

My concerns are,

1. How tough is this TRAS exam?
  2. My course is a 5 year program with clinicals from 3rd year. There is no continous 1 year internship at the end but we have more than a year clinics only months spreaded across from 4th year. Will that be a issue? (Our university is WHO reconginsed and the medium is in English!)
  3. Also, in case Medical Council is not satisfied with my internship history and asks me to do another year, would it be possible to do it in Ireland?
I will deeply appreciate any helpful replies.
Thanks very much in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

hey somebody reply here ............help this fello:scared:

Members don't see this ad :)
it’s very difficult for a non-EU citizen, non-EU grad to get into Ireland for internship straight after university, most will do basic training in another country and then apply during the SHO years. if after your university degree you have not done some time working in hospital as a doctor it is highly unlikely for you do be allowed to skip internship year.
Just to let you know many Irish citizens who trained in EU countries (in the general scheme of things they would be looked at before you) have great difficulty getting an internship.
The general rule is that the applicants are looked at in this order