This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

premed0176

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am currently a sophomore in college and want to get involved in research. I am not sure where to start looking for opportunities. I heard that students can directly contact professors to inquire about possibilities but I am unsure whether or not that is the best path to take. Thank you in advance for any advice.

Members don't see this ad.

Some schools will have a pre-med office or club that will offer leads on professors who have previously had undergrads working with them. Otherwise, most people ask PIs if they are willing to take them on. There is no 'best path'. If you want to do something, start asking around.

Reactions: 2 users
I've personally gotten to know some of my science professors and inquired about their research after building a rapport with them. They are usually then very willing to take you on, especially if you've performed well in their class

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
If you want to do something, then do it. Ask the professors whose research interests you. Nobody here will do that for you. Time to grow up and do things for yourself.