how to get into a critical care fellowship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

im2b

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd year med student interested in critical care. What is the application process for a critical care fellowship? What type of qualifications do you need to get in? Are pulm / critical care fellowships very competitive?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

There are multiple avenues.

90% of critical care physicians go through internal medicine (3 years), followed by fellowship in pulmonary and critical care (3 years). The lionshare of critical care docs in practice outside of major medical/academic centers are PCCM. Generally, pulmonary/CCM is less competitive than GI or Cards, however prestigious programs are very competitive.

You may also gain CCM training without pulmonary, which is typically 2 years after IM residency or 1 year of training after an IM subspecialty fellowship (cardiology, nephrology, etc.)

Surgical critical care, usually tied with trauma surgery, is 1-2 years following a 5-7 year general surgery residency.

Anesthesiology critical care is usually 1-2 years following a 4 year anesthesiology residency.

Neurology critical care does exist, usually tied in with a fellowship in stroke.

Pediatric critical care is a 2 year fellowship following 3 years of pediatric residency.

As of yet, emergency medicine has been trying to get a certified critical care specialization...but this has not happened yet. A handful of fellowships will train EM docs in critical care.

Some "fast track" opportunities are available, but these generally involve trading a year of say IM training to be a PCCM or CCM fellow for and extra year.