How to be a DDS in Hawaii?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Esthetic

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi..I am an international doctor studying 3-years specialty program. Which means I don't have America DDS degree but my 3-years program is ADA accredited program. I am interested in being a dentist in Hawaii.
Is there anyone who can let me know?​

Members don't see this ad.

You need a DDS to practice in HI. No shortcuts here.

Not to mention that Honolulu is one of the most saturated markets for dentists. On vacation I went into the Ala Moana mall and walked next door to a professional building and was amazed at what I saw.

Now this is just a memory recollection from a couple of years ago but here goes:

18 story building.
140 total listings.
90 dental related listings.

75 general dentists.
2 periodontists.
2 oral surgeons.
4 pediatric dentists.
2 prosthodontists.
1 oral pathologist.
2 orthodontists.
2 dental labs.

If you really want to appeal to the dental board for licensure, I would advise that you would show commitment to working in an underserved, rural community outside of the city center (of anywhere in the country, not just HI).

Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)
u are eligible for licensure in 8 states with your specialty certificate.more details can be had from ada's website.

As far as I know, you need a DDS/DMD from ADA accredited program so sounds like you will not be practicing in Hawaii unless you go back for the appropriate degree. I would contact the Hawaii dental board to confirm though.

Hi..I am an international doctor studying 3-years specialty program. Which means I don't have America DDS degree but my 3-years program is ADA accredited program. I am interested in being a dentist in Hawaii.
Is there anyone who can let me know?​