How to approach roommate about noise during MCAT studying?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

KMS0732

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a non-traditional student who has graduated college and is now living in an apartment with a girl who is also a working professional (ie, no longer a student). We have a civil living environment but are not at all close or friends with each other as she is very reserved.

Her family is visiting from another country and I am planning to take the MCAT in June, so I am currently studying a lot in addition to working full time. My issue is the noise-level in the apartment currently. It's not loud to the point where I feel like a complaint is justified, but it is too loud to study properly. If they were blasting music then I would have no problem asking them to be quiet, but it is more like loud conversations. I feel like it would be rude to ask them to talk more quietly since this is probably the only time in a year when she gets to see her family, however it is quite disruptive to my studying. How exactly do I tell her and her guests to be EXTRA quiet during this time when I have to study? In college, I was very good friends with my roommates and it was easy for them to understand when I asked for minimum noise in the dorm in order to study. But my current roommate is very awkward and difficult to talk to, and I worry it won't be taken well.

Couple of notes:
- I specifically bought a desk, chair, lamp, and noise-cancelling headphones in order to study in my apartment because I don't like to study at the library. It is just too draining to commute to the library after working 8+ hours at a full time job each day.
- I already checked our lease and her guests are allowed to stay for the length of time which they are staying for (maximum allowed by our lease is 1.5 months), so I can't ask her to kick out her guests.