How Quantiative are Nuclear Medicine docs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

YeOldeMan

Squinting at You
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Nukes,

I'm doing a highly quantitative major (involving a lot of upper math), and I am very interested in the quantitative applications in medicine. Browsing through some info, I fond that Nuclear docs tend to use to most physics and analysis of the specialties. I'm just curious, how quantitative are you? Do you use math regularly? What kind of math? Diff Equations, PDEs, Linear Algebra, ODEs, multivariable calculus and math?

How do Nukes compare to Radiologists in that sense?

Thanks!
-YOM

Members don't see this ad.

as a medical student, i probly can't answer this question as well as you'd like, but having rotated through both nuc meds and rads, I can offer you my own perspective.

Radiologists don't use math, and are only quantitative when it comes to measuring the dimensions of their findings on the diagnostic studies they are readings. But, every radiology resident must take and pass a physics course on the physics of radiological imaging. As far as I know, they don't use that knowledge of physics to a large extent as they read their reports, except in the small part of knowing how the images were obtained and knowing how certain findings appear based on densities, for example.