How much would Spanish look favorably to med school or BS/MD programs?

bluewind751

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a student in high school and I was wondering whether AP Spanish would be a necessary class for BS/MD programs. Would this benefit my application significantly or not really?

Members don't see this ad.

Any AP classes that you can do well in look good.

If you take take AP spanish and can get A's and a 3/4/5 on the AP then go for it.

If you take AP spanish and are getting C's and know you will get a 2/1 on the AP then better not to take it.

Members don't see this ad :)
If you are fluent in Spanish you can apply to the Puerto Rican medical schools also. They are LCME-accredited programs.

You did not just recommend that the OP apply straight to Caribbean medical schools off the bat...:rolleyes:

OP, foreign MD programs should be applied to as a last resort.

I really hope you are joking...is my sarcasm detector broken today?

On the off chance you aren't joking...

Puerto Rico is a US territory. The four medical schools I listed in my previous reply are considered American medical schools, NOT "Caribbean medical schools".

agree with the poster above. people learn before making any statement:rolleyes:

While Puerto Rico may be considered a U.S. school, it's still located in the Caribbean and really isn't on the same level as schools in the contiguous U.S.. Average MCAT scores are ~10 points below the U.S. average, and the GPA is ~0.5 lower than the U.S. average.

While Puerto Rico may be considered a U.S. school, it's still located in the Caribbean and really isn't on the same level as schools in the contiguous U.S.. Average MCAT scores are ~10 points below the U.S. average, and the GPA is ~0.5 lower than the U.S. average.

The above is basically what I was getting at, and the OP doesn't need to be setting him/herself up for more trouble than it's worth merely because he/she can speak Spanish well.