How much do you feel about covering for other residents?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Asteroid Body

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
As a resident, I remember countless calls from my PD saying I needed to do 3x the expected amount of work for the day because someone called in sick, was on childcare leave, needed to take care of their children's daycare, or just had nonspecific reasons for calling off work. I had mixed thoughts about this. Sometimes it just seemed like they were too lazy to come into work.

What are your thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

As a resident, I remember countless calls from my PD saying I needed to do 3x the expected amount of work for the day because someone called in sick, was on childcare leave, needed to take care of their children's daycare, or just had nonspecific reasons for calling off work. I had mixed thoughts about this. Sometimes it just seemed like they were too lazy to come into work.

What are your thoughts?

I am 100% certain you’re not quite seeing it from the other person’s point of view. I am sure it has more to do than “they were too lazy to come to work” - those residents are quickly shown the door.

You have (had?) an opportunity to step up and be a team player. If you have to do it with some frequency, I am sure it will get noticed (unless you complain about it non-stop) which will help you when it comes time for fellowship/job apps. Residency is a finite amount of time - get through it and move on.

Reactions: 2 users
Don't do it if you can. They're taking advantage of you.
I covered for others at least 3-4 times and all of them gave excuses when they were asked to repay.
"I'm in clinic and they need me b/c there is only one fellow" Yeah, right.