How Med Schools view postbacc at BC vs UWB

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

agonch

Reaction score
I have a previous degree from UW Seattle (2017), which encompassed some science subjects like math/physics. As a nontrad DIY student, I have been taking a year of general prerequisites at Bellevue College (BC). I have the option to continue taking prereqs as BC or switch to UW Bothell (UWB). Courses I'm considering include biochem, upper-level bio, A&P. I feel better supported with UWB's premed community, but is there is no other benefit in the eyes of the admissions committee? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

It sort of depends on why you're doing the post-bacc work. It sounds like you're a career-changer, so I'll start with the first point:

Unless a medical school of interest explicitly states on their website that community college or JuCo coursework will not fill their requirements, there's really no reason why you shouldn't just stick with the cheaper option to knock out the remaining required coursework. If BC has upper level biochem, A&P, etc. and so long as you've aced your other science work, you're probably okay. However if you just really crave some more structure, then consider finishing up at UWB.

Second point: did you have a weak sGPA in undergrad? If so, you need to enroll at an SMP (special masters program) where you'll do a year of rigorous, graduate-level science courses akin to what first year medical students take. Acing like ~30 hours of undergrad coursework as a DIY postbacc in hopes of proving yourself worthy to adcoms will be a fruitless endeavor if you had just an average or below average sGPA previously. You have to swing the pendulum back in your favor by acing graduate level coursework to make up for a weaker undergraduate performance. Review the link in my signature if you want to read up on my DIY postbacc experience.

I hope this helps!

Reactions: 1 user