How many changed the focus of their personal essay?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Amy B

I miss my son so much
Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here's a question..... How many of you changed the main focus of your personal statement essay?

I did. Although I got raves about my essay I wanted to become a pediatric oncologist. My essay reflected things about why I wanted to do it and why I thought I would be great at it, ie: my best friend died of cancer which made me want to be a doctor, I am a mother and therefore feel very prepared and handling sick kids,etc....

I was told during an interview... That there was a lot time between med school and becoming a peds oncologist and lots could happen, and I didn't really know what I wanted to be, etc.... I told her I was an older student who knew what I wanted. That I was able to plan and lay out my future. She said she totally disagreed.

That made me question the tunnel vision of my essay. I thought about it for a year and a half and then deceided to change my focus to rural family practice. I completely changed my essay and had more interviews and acceptances this time around.

Is it do to my essay??........ who knows, but it is the only thing I changed since I applied the first time. I didn't apply to any of the schools I applied to the first time though.

Members don't see this ad.

I absolutely did. I would hate to think that after being denied admission, I had simply continued without making any changes. Since I did make changes, it was necessary for me to reflect that in my application.

That made me think now, AMy, about my first personal essay that I will be writing for next year's application. I planned a tunnel like vision in mind in writing my essay but perhaps I should reanalyzed my approach.........hmm....

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by allmightylong