How Long to Study for Step 2 CS?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

coletrickle

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi: I am a US Med student wanting to know how long I need to study for Step 2 CS? Most people I've talked to study less than a week.

I have 4 full days currently scheduled to study (I don't want to move my date) Is this enough? Thoughts?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi: I am a US Med student wanting to know how long I need to study for Step 2 CS? Most people I've talked to study less than a week.

I have 4 full days currently scheduled to study (I don't want to move my date) Is this enough? Thoughts?

Thanks!

If you've completed your core 3rd year rotations, then you should be fine. Most of it is just doing the same stuff you did on your rotations. I'd just take some time and go through First Aid for CS and the materials they publish on their website so you understand what is expected of you in each encounter and on your notes. This shouldn't take you more than 4 days.

Also, take a look at some of the CS specific threads on the forum, I found them helpful.

i took two weeks just to be safe. after the first few days it was like pulling teeth to get through cases and read FA. you should be fine

I took two days to study--make sure you do the following:
1-Watch the orientation video online
2-Read through the minicases and practice cases in CS
3-Practice writing out your interview sheet

For example, on mine I would write:
Name, Age, CC, Abnl Vitals
HPI, PMHx, PSHx, Meds, Allergies....etc

Before I entered the room! This really helped me to stay organized.

Members don't see this ad :)
Most people in my class year went in cold, other than reading the orientation material. No failures so far.

Granted, we 1) have a lot of SP encounters in our curriculum over MS1-3 and 2) have an in-house CS-like exam that we take prior to CS.