How long do I have to wait for the IMC registration ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yukichan

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a Belgian junior doctor and I want to work in Ireland (a beautiful country:luck:). My application was sent to the Medical Council of Ireland in the end of February of 2011 and since then... ... ... I'm waiting for my registration.
I am so tired of waiting and getting impatient to work over there.

I thought that it was only in Belgium we have some problems with the administration.

Members don't see this ad.

It depends . Did IMC send you letter that have received your application ?

Yes, IMC did and it said I have to wait 6-8 weeks. It's about the time but I still don't have any confirmation of my registration.

Why does it take so long ?
When you said "it depends", what do you mean by that ?

I know life is not easy in Ireland but I have enough being a jobless doctor in Belgium.

Members don't see this ad :)
well I know one doctor waited 8 weeks, But I think you will get it this week or next one for sure.
No place for worries.
Enjoy the time off :)

PS,Anyway, How is it in Belgum for Doctors, ?

Thanks for your replies, Haus.

In Belgium, life is not easy for doctors (like most everywhere). Last year, I did my one year and a half internship and got no paid at all (apart some sandwiches when I was on call). Moreover, I had final exams every 2-4 months.

Residency is terrible here because :
1) you are not paid in overtime (luckily, duties are paid but don't think that they are paid double neither 1,5 times)
2) 50% of income taxes
3) You have to pay your subscription at your university when you begin your new year of residency. (It's not too much, about 800 euros, but I dislike the principle "You have to pay to be allowed to work")
4) long hours (Like everywhere but it hurts when you know you are not paid in overtime)