How is post-residency doctoring different from residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IonClaws

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just as the title says.

I've read that while medical school/residency tends to make the impression that academic hospitals are the majority of hospitals in the country, in reality they're the minority. I've also read that rounding as a team (like, attending, residents, med students, etc.) are not a thing outside of academic hospitals, or hospitals that don't have associated residencies.

I guess I'm saying as a current intern, I really dislike academia and the job structure it forms in residency training. I find rounding as a team to be really inefficient and much of the time I'm twiddling my thumbs and not learning or doing anything. Things have to be communicated and written down multiple times by multiple people on the same service. Also not a fan of lecture style teaching as it is even more inefficient.

So how different is being an attending practicing in the community with no academic responsibilities (other than board re-certification and the annual conference)? You obviously don't have to round multiple times with a team, right? Unless there's a clear reason to round multiple times or there are multi-disciplinary rounds, but that doesn't happen very often AFAIK.

Yeah so how do things change when you finish residency?

Members don't see this ad.

It depends on your style and hospital requirements really. Some ICU docs I know will still round as an entire team, resp therapists, dietitians, nursing, pharmacy etc.