Status
Not open for further replies.

lord999

Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I am a Canadian applying to medical school this cycle. I graduated from A Bio-Medical Sciences degree program at a Canadian university last spring. I have been working in healthcare with patient contact since graduation.

Cumulative GPA - 94.75% (4.00 AMCAS calculation)

MCAT - 2 attempts --- rewrote to improve cars score (1 - 512 (130/123/130/129), 2 - 517 (130/127/132/128))

EC's:
work exp:
- 1 year working as a porter for the medical imaging department at an academic hospital. Direct contact with patients in every transport - closely working with a range or healthcare staff and COVID-19 positive patients.
- 4 years working at large hockey arena as parking attendant for events (during undergrad). promoted to parking coordinator where I lead a team of 20 attendants etc. (part time)
- 3x full time landscaping/maintenance at local waterpark/campground. Lots of leadership and initiative activities.
- 1 year working at trampoline park (during undergrad) as court monitor - safety, rule enforcement etc. (part-time)
- 1 year working as a ski lift operator (part-time)

volunteer:
- 2 years as waiting room attendant/staff support in emergency department (200 hrs)
- Human anatomy program outreach speaker (300hrs) - share cadaveric anatomy with community members (high school students to health professionals)
- 4 months volunteering in local community center serving meals + providing resources to youth and adults struggling with homelessness/addiction/poverty (~50 hrs to date, will be continuing for awhile)

Athletics:
- motocross racer (10000 hrs)- raced at multiple national chamionship events, part of sponsorship team. Planned/developed community bike nights in my region. Mentored/coached younger racers.
- Varsity rowing coxswain at university (1 year) - lead men's 8 boat to university finals. awarded rookie athlete of the year.