How I cracked the DAT without spending a single penny on test prep

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

heterodont1301

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I just took the DAT today, and boy am I glad its over! I wanted to share with you how I did on it without spending a SINGLE PENNY on test prep (I am a poor graduate student, so its not like I had the money anyway :) )

Here is what I used for studying/practice:
1. Biology- Notes from college biology classes, MCAT books from my school library and the public library, Cliff's notes.
2. Gen Chem- Notes from college GC classes, exams from college classes, MCAT GC, Chad's videos (HE IS AMAZING!!)
3. Orgo- Notes from college Orgo classes, exams from college classes, MCAT OC. (I have a masters in OC, so this wasn't a huge deal for me!)
4. PAT- DAT BootCamp Angle ranking generator, DAT Genius Hole punching and cube counting generator.
5. RC- Nothing.
6. QR- SAT books from library, GRE books from library, Khan Academy for probability (This helped immensely!)

Here are the practice tests I took:
1. Kaplan 2016 DAT book (Available at my school library, that came with two practice tests)
Scores:
Test 1: Bio-21, GC-17, OC-20, PAT-16, RC- 22, QR-16---> AA- 19
Test 2: Bio-22, GC- 22, OC-22, PAT-20, RC-24, QR-17---> AA-21

2. DAT Bootcamp free practice test
Score: (This is after I had taken the section tests, and I did not know that the questions would be pretty much the same, so I don't count these scores to be representative)
Bio- 28, GC-30, OC-24, PAT- 23, RC-23, QR- 30
*Note* BC is amazing, and if I had money, I would have invested in getting a membership.

3. DAT genius free practice test
Score:
Bio-19, GC-18, OC-20, PAT-20, RC-20, QR-19

4. 2007 ADA test (Online version)
Bio-23, GC-21, OC-24, PAT-22, QR-20

5. 2009 ADA test (Online version) (I lost the piece paper with my scores on it, but they were in the range as above)

Actual test: