How good is my step 1 score for radiology?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nima123

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I just got my USMLE score. It's 244 [was aiming for 250 but got little sleep the night before the test :( ]. The results report a mean of 221 and a SD of 23.

Are these results good enough to get a spot in a radiology program with good reputation? Should I take Step 2?
(Note: I'm a Canadian student but we can enter the same match as US grads).

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

not very. these days the average score is a 272.

not very. these days the average score is a 272.

Yes, I concur. You should just give up all hope of matching into rads. :scared:

I would start thinking about some other specialty that is less competitive. :(

Seriously though, your score is fine, you should match alright if everything else in your app is okay.

Members don't see this ad :)
well, i think for most programs nowadays 245 is the cut-off the score . . . below which they request additional compensation for having wasted the secretary's time in opening your application. so don't waste your time OR money.

well, i think for most programs nowadays 245 is the cut-off the score . . . below which they request additional compensation for having wasted the secretary's time in opening your application. so don't waste your time OR money.

This answer was gonna be my worst nightmare! Folks, is this true?
Should I write step 2 then?

Dude(ette): You're more than fine. I'd be more concerned about the fact that you're Canadian, eh.

me thinks you know you have a good score and are here for others to pat you on the back for receiving it. well. good job.

me thinks you know you have a good score and are here for others to pat you on the back for receiving it. well. good job.

umm...no! I'm interested in an uber competitive specialty and just wanna know where I stand.