How does vision insurance work?

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tjholmes

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
sorry im a student so this may seem basic to you guys.

Lets say my exam fee for an eye exam is $70.

for example if a pt has a vision plan like eyemed or vsp or something and they use that for the exam, so the way i understand it is that i would get reimbursed some of my normal exam fee (like $40) by the insurance provider for the exam.

what about the other 30. can i charge the pt for the rest or are they completely not expected to pay because of their insurance.

and how does a copay come into this.

basically what im asking is do i only make my full fees on pts with no insurance.

im trying to figure all this stuff out before i actually get out there. thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

sorry im a student so this may seem basic to you guys.

Lets say my exam fee for an eye exam is $70.

for example if a pt has a vision plan like eyemed or vsp or something and they use that for the exam, so the way i understand it is that i would get reimbursed some of my normal exam fee (like $40) by the insurance provider for the exam.

what about the other 30. can i charge the pt for the rest or are they completely not expected to pay because of their insurance.

and how does a copay come into this.

basically what im asking is do i only make my full fees on pts with no insurance.

im trying to figure all this stuff out before i actually get out there. thanks.
That's how it works with any benefit plan. As a participating provider, you agree to accept the contracted rate or your U&C, whichever is lower as payment in full for the services rendered. You can not balance bill the patient.

Technically, it's not insurance at all, just a prepaid benefit program.