How do you guys handle people asking for narcotics

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LUCPM

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
How do you guys handle people coming in asking for narcotics or benzos? I'm still a resident in training and I've been trying to figure out how to avoid unpleasant experience with those manipulative drug seekers with borderline personality.

I've once said No straight up to their face, which made the patient storm out of the room swearing at me. Another time, a patient came in for acute visit to I&D an abscess and wanted to discuss his/her chronic pain at the end of visit. This time I tried to be a little more empathetic and offered them to make another appointment to discuss his/her "chronic pain. Then the patient suddenly decided he/she needed "something" for the abscess that was just drained. As soon as I told the patient to try OTC Ibuprofen/Tylenol, he/she was trying to make me feel guilty by saying, "So you just cut me open and don't care if I'm in pain?!" Then he/she again proceeded to storm out of the room. How can I be more diplomatic or avoid all these BS encounters all together? Any tips?

Members don't see this ad.

If they're storming out of the room swearing at you, you made the right call.

jgwty.jpg

Reactions: 9 users
Seriously, though...don't worry about it. If you exercise good clinical judgement, pay attention to red flags, and make frequent use of your state's prescription monitoring program, it's not rocket science figuring out who the drug seekers are. Just say "no." You don't want these people to like you. Eventually, word will get around that they can't score from you, and they'll leave you alone.

Opioids aren't candy. The evidence speaks for itself.
http://www.nsc.org/RxDrugOverdoseDo...er-pain-medications-than-opioids-with-IFP.pdf

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)