How do I find a group practice to join?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

psychlatte

Reaction score
Hello! I'm a PGY-4 resident at a program across the country from where I plan to move after graduation (NYC). I am leaning towards going into private practice, but I have no business experience and would prefer to be among colleagues as I'm just starting out.. problem is, I have no psychiatry connections in the area. I've looked on indeed.com, practicelink, etc but it seems like there really aren't any job listings in line with what I'm looking for. So... how exactly do I go about this? Is cold calling/emailing the best way? I can find practices on google of course, but there are hundreds of established practices and I'm not sure how to narrow it down.

Secondary question- when to start reaching out? I won't be able to start working until roughly a year from today (I'm a couple months off-cycle), is it too soon to be interviewing?

Apologies for the newbie questions, and I appreciate your input!

Members don't see this ad.

It's fine to start now. Established docs know you won't finish until end of June. Gives time to interview, shore up a contract and even start in on paperwork and licensing. So now sounds about right.

1) Where do you want to live?
2) Google and internet sleuth the heck out of the area you want to live, for the practices that you might want to call and reach out to.
3) Call them. Express your interest. Have your CV ready. Go from there.

Reactions: 1 users
Cold calling feels weird only until you do it a few times and get some level of positive feedback. It's human nature. I know my partner struggled with this when we had a nationwide job hunt, she just felt really weird calling a random practice and asking "are you hiring?". Other than just direct exposure (which is the best answer to your question), get some support from classmates or anyone who has been through the process.