how do I explain this to pt

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cavityhereIcome

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok. I am a newbie to the clinic. This pt has several periapical lesions, and endo testing came out positive and pt has necrotic pulps. how do I best explain this situation so that patient choose to do endo? in other words, how do I sell this..

Members don't see this ad.

I am a newbie to clinic. my pt has several periapical lesions, and endo testing shows they are necrotic. how do I explain this situation to patient so that he chooses to do Endo
? in other words, how do I sell this..?

Easy. Tell it like it is. They have pre-existing pathology (in general most patients will understand words like abscess or infection) Mention that (if so) the levels of the supportive bone around their teeth is good. Mention that the teeth are fully restorable once the infection/abscess is treated with root canal treatment and then a crown after for strength purposes.

The only other option to treat the infection/abscess is for the tooth/teeth to be extracted and then one should look into having the areas where teeth would then be missing restored so as to not put a greater amount of work forces on the remaining teeth trying to do the extra work that the infected teeth did.

If for various reasons the patient chooses to have the teeth out and not proceed with the endo/crowns, well then if you have informed them of the pros and cons of the various procedure options, then you have done your job. Don't get upset/frustrated if at times, patients won't choose to save a tooth. You may not be aware of all the factors in their lives at that time (or from past expereinces) that influence their choice.