How do I do this?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

craniopage

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm so glad I've stumbled upon an appropriate place to ruminate about my med school aspirations. This site is great. I would love to get some feedback/advice about my situation...here 'tis (and I'm sorry its long!):

I've been an acupuncturist in solo practice for 3.5 years. As an undergrad, I originally wanted to go to med school; I've now come full circle in that. My 13-year-old bachelors degree is in biology and I have a master of science degree in traditional Oriental medicine (dual program in acupuncture and Chinese herbology). Poor decisions about financing the latter endeavor have left me in a ridiculous boatload of debt. I am clear about the fact that I'm not going to be well off as a doctor, especially after reading some of the threads here, and I'm ok with that. I'm just getting by now; might as well be doing satisfying work while I make ends meet, right?

My main area of focus as an undergrad was my social life. I had a great deal of growing to do and a number of personal issues to work out. Essentially, I wasn't ready or willing to do the work in my late teens/early 20's, so I ditched the med school idea and became a biology major. My grades were lackluster, so I'm not sure how best to approach all of this now.

My undergrad cGPA was 3.05 and bpmc was 2.92 -- the latter figure includes many science courses beyond the essential prereqs and I'm assuming that they are to be counted. Is this right?