This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mangoliebe

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm currently a Computer Sciences track undergraduate (graduation est. 2020), but I've been considering med school. I don't know if this is an adolescent career phase or genuine interest, since I turn 16 tomorrow (yay). Without bogging this post down with the details, I essentially skipped high school and am currently enrolled at UMCP, and would graduate right after turning 18 (old enough to start collecting hours?).
As such, even if I wanted to become a physician, I worry that I'd have to wait quite a while before being a competitive applicant for my goal med schools, with clinical hours and age restrictions (? still not sure about these).

My plan was to graduate as a Computer Science major with a Philosophy minor for now (my major requires upper-level courses in another discipline and I don't have the course hours left for much but Philosophy). Due to financial situations, I need to graduate by 2020, so I can't really switch CS (or Philosophy) to Biology or something that would prep me for med school pre-reqs. Thus, if I AM serious about med school, then I would have to do a post-bacc.

However, I don't know what I would do during the post-bacc. Should I be looking for clinical hours part-time to get extracurriculars? Is that wasting my CS major and the current fulfillments I've been doing towards that major?

My two questions are basically:
How do I know if I'm serious about med school and the following commitment to a career as a physician?
If so, how do I make myself competitive while not feeling like I'm wasting three years of my life doing a CS major?

PS: about the financial situation, if I do choose med school, I am planning on HPSP but not because of the debt-freeness (definitely helps though)

Thank you very much for reading and offering your advice!

Members don't see this ad.