How do I decide between PA or MD/DO?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dancinggirl2016

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a sophomore in college and have been planning to go to PA school. However, I've recently become really indecisive about going to med school or PA school. They both have their pros and cons. I just wanted some perspective about whether my pros and cons were true and justified and what your thoughts were on why you chose PA or didn't choose PA.

Pros of Medical School:
*Ultimately a higher pay.
*More school = better healthcare provider.
*I like learning and would love to learn everything I could about medicine.
*Higher level of respect.

Cons of Medical School:
*Expensive - the idea of being 250k+ in debt honestly makes me want to throw up.
*As much as I love learning, the idea of not truly being out of school until my 30s (due to residency) feels like a major sacrifice.
*I want to have a family (and actually be able to see them). I don't want to be on call every other weekend.
*I would like to work less than 50 hours a week.

Pros of PA School:
*Cheaper
*Less time - would still get part of my 20s outside of school.
*Can switch specialties (this is a huge one). I know it's not always as easy as sometimes portrayed, but it is possible.
*Ability to consult with physician if needed.
*Easier to find jobs with no call and a normal 9-5 schedule M-F.

Cons of PA School:
*Less education
*Being handed all of the cases that the doctor doesn't want (not sure if this is true or not?)
*Glass ceiling??

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
For me it was simply that PA's don't function in the way that I want to practice medicine. Simply, they aren't in the positions that I want to occupy so I went DO. If they do what you want to do, by all means be a PA and if not, well then do medical school.