How did you get a letter of recommendation from a professor for a post-bacc?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jubanpride

Reaction score
Hi SDN folks,

I'd love to hear from people who applied to career changer post-baccs a few years after graduation. Who did you ask for your academic letters of recommendation? How did you go about doing it?

I studied film and economics in undergrad. The 3 professors I was close with during my time have either retired or moved to different schools. When I've reached out to them, they've declined to write a letter of recommendation for me. If anyone has any advice on how to move forward, I'd really appreciate it.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

I would start emailing professors you weren't very close to, but had good performance in their classes. Just reach out to them with a brief reminder email about who you are, which class you took, and what grade you got. Sometimes the most random professors are the most enthusiastic to write letters (I had an art professor who offered to write a letter even though it was an online class and she had never met me).

Alternatively, you might consider taking a basic science course at your local community college. This will allow you to have a more recent professor who can attest to your academic performance (which is what I ended up doing for one of my letter of recs).

Finally, if your undergraduate academic adviser is still around, you could maybe see if they're willing to do a committee letter. It will probably not be very personalized but they have your GPA information and can attest to what types of grades you received.

Reactions: 1 user
get a LOR from your work experience as well. I think there is more flexibility with this than many think. As a nontrad your experience is so different that it is more worthwhile to have someone who actually knows your character rather than a random professor.