How common is preventative care?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Wildlifelover

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I am currently deciding on my future career and PT is one of the options I am weighing heavily. I have a lot of experience in the outpatient clinic setting, and I have had shadow experience in inpatient, home health, and pediatrics as well. However, I am very intrigued by the idea of preventative/wellness PT but from what I have gathered, it isn't that popular of an option.

Would you guys say this is an area of PT in high demand or would it be an area you would be lucky to break into? What would be the big differences in a DPT working in a gym setting versus a DPT in an outpatient clinic? Scripts from doctors? How does all of this work? How do the job duties differ?

And of course, if anyone here has any experience as a preventative care PT please let me know what you did to get there and what it is like.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi there,

I am currently deciding on my future career and PT is one of the options I am weighing heavily. I have a lot of experience in the outpatient clinic setting, and I have had shadow experience in inpatient, home health, and pediatrics as well. However, I am very intrigued by the idea of preventative/wellness PT but from what I have gathered, it isn't that popular of an option.

Would you guys say this is an area of PT in high demand or would it be an area you would be lucky to break into? What would be the big differences in a DPT working in a gym setting versus a DPT in an outpatient clinic? Scripts from doctors? How does all of this work? How do the job duties differ?

And of course, if anyone here has any experience as a preventative care PT please let me know what you did to get there and what it is like.

Thank you!
Insurance does not reimburse for preventative care for PT. So there is no such thing.