How Can I Repair My Transcript?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PA_dud3

PA-S1
Moderator Emeritus
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Long time no see. I hope all my friends in the Pre-Med world are doing well. I come to you today to ask for advice on how to best repair my transcript for DO school. I have considered Optometry/Podiatry but I realized after doing some soul searching that medicine is still something I very much want to pursue, however I know that in my current circumstances I am pretty much guaranteed to be rejected.

Some background. I am in my third year of undergrad and am currently preparing to graduate in the Summer of 2021. My grades were initially very good but after some issues with an OCD diagnosis, COVID online classes, and overloading myself with credit hours two semester in a row, my GPA took a nasty downward trend. I realize now what I have been doing wrong and I am committed to repairing my transcript, but I'm not sure exactly how to go about doing so. I have thought about an SMP with Linkage but I'm not sure if that would be the best option.

My current stats:
- 3.67 cGPA
- 3.50 sGPA
- no MCAT
-100+ Hours of shadowing spread across Nephrology/FM/Anesthesiology plus
- 200 +/- Clinical Hours as a Telemetry Monitor Tech
- 500 +/- Hours working as an Administrative Assistant at a Nephrology Practice
- Currently employed as an Optometry tech
- 60 hours of non-clinical volunteering at a local food bank

Here is a rough trend of how my GPA took a downward trend by semester GPA. From freshman year until now:
3.92 > 4.00 > 4.00 > 3.64 > 3.24 > 3.37

Again, the above is semester GPA.

I have two semesters left to repair my GPA at my home institution, but I know this will not be enough. I have currently nothing lower than a C-, but I have a C in Biochem and Physics I.