How can I improve my chances for a PsyD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gg3636

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all! I apologize if some of this info seems repetitive, as I've posted my stats before when I was initially applying, and I also apologize for the length. Desperate for some advice, though!
I'm a current undergrad senior who just applied to 8 PsyD programs (Loyola, UIndy, IUP, University of Denver, LaSalle, Widener, Wright State, Xavier). My advisor was extremely confident in my ability to get into a program if I applied now, however, I only received 2 interview invites. I fell in love with one of the programs, had a great interview, and was subsequently waitlisted (although I was told I was a high alternate for admission). The other program I interviewed at, I really just didn't click with. And if I were to receive an acceptance, the likelihood I would attend is slim. So I'm stuck waiting to hear from my waitlist, but preparing for the worst as I know waitlists are kind of a fever dream (most of the time).

To be honest, I'm really disappointed and surprised I did not get in this cycle. I knew my quant GRE score was problematic (as you'll see below), but I really hoped my other stats would balance it out.

I'm looking for advice on what to do now. I do not want to wait until April 15th to start making other plans, in case that waitlist call never comes. Listed below is the info from my CV. Other than trying to improve the heck out of my GREs, what would you suggest I focus on this next year to make myself competitive for PsyD programs? I was offered a job at my internship as a mental health tech, but would attempting to get a position as an RA or a psychometrist be better?

Academics:
General GPA: 3.77 (3.79 now)
Psychology GPA: 3.77
GRE (blah- I know these are bad): V:157(76th percentile) Q:147(27th percentile) AW:4.0(60th percentile)