Hospital versus Retail Pharmacist Personalities

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rxgremlin

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Can anyone comment on the differences in personalities between hospital and retail pharmacists?

I have worked in retail for several years and graduated last year with my PharmD. I was pro-retail up until the time I graduated but now I am really coming to hate it. The reason that I am starting to hate it is not the usual insurance and angry customer thing but my fellow pharmacists.

It amazes me how anal and obsessive they are. Every day I walk into work I have to worry about what trivial thing I may have or have not done. "Rxgremlin didn't sign the daily narcotic log" or "Rxgremlin filled a lisinopril prescription that didn't have a date on it." Things like that.

I have been around enough retail pharmacists to realize that many of them are like that but what about hospital pharmacists? On average are they more laid back?

Unfortunately, I had only one rotation in a hospital and it since it was clinical I really have no idea what a "normal" hospital pharmacist does. I'm really considering making a move to something besides retail but hospital is honestly a big unknown.

All I know is that I can't go into work everyday and deal with such trivial crap.

If anyone could give me some advice, I would greatly appreciate it.

Members don't see this ad.

Do you work with a lot of new grads? Those are the only "anal" pharmacists that I know. They have to do everything "by the book", because they don't really know what's trivial or not yet.

Members don't see this ad :)
I have been around enough retail pharmacists to realize that many of them are like that but what about hospital pharmacists? On average are they more laid back?