Hopkins

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

newgirl

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Looking for opinions. I recently was admitted to Hopkins and noticed a number of posts that were critical of the academic atmosphere. I will have to decide between Hopkins and my state school (with full scholarship) in the next week or two. Is reputation all it's cracked up to be and is Hopkins really that bad? Also curious as to average med school debt. :confused:

Members don't see this ad.

i'm a jhu undergrad, interacted with many md and md/phd students through my lab at the med school, i did not sense that competitiveness which is spoken of, very nice people, grading is A-F, but it breaks down more like 5-10% A, 85% B, 5-10% C, which basically looks like Honors/Pass/Fail, with different names. I wouldn't worry about it at all. Unless your state school W/ full tuition is somethning like UCSF/UCLA/Michigan i wouldn't pass up the opportunity to go to hopkins, baltimore is a nice town, not as crowded as boston/ny, which is a good thing as well as a bad. But you see some trees, lots of nice areas to live with a free shuttle to the med school, good luck in your decision.

I was in a similar situation years ago, for both undergrad and medical school. I went for the expensive private school for undergrad and the state school for med school. I'd suggest taking the money...I know that I'm getting just as good of an education...but I'm not going as deeply into debt. And don't fool yourself - the debt is a factor in many things for those unlucky enough to have hundreds of thousands of dollars of debt - like how you live in residency, what specialty you can afford to go into.
FWIW,
Kristi

Members don't see this ad :)
Since when is JHU's area in Baltimore nice!? It's in a horrible ghetto with a huge knife and gun club.......

later

Originally posted by 12R34Y: