Hoping for Some Advice, Pre-PT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AKArbalest

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, this is my first post.

I am hoping to get some input from you guys on my current situation. I graduated in 2007 from Pitzer College in Claremont with a BA in Organismal Biology and Ecology. I worked in the environmental consulting field for about 2 years after college, and realized that I was in a field that I wasn't very passionate about

I made the decision that PT would be a good fit for me and did what I could to apply to schools in Fall of 2009 (for Fall 2010 admission). I knew I was missing a few of the prereqs and my GPA was a quite low, but I figured there was no harm in trying except for the time. I applied to a number of schools on the west coast (USC, MSMC, CSULB, CSUS, CSUN, UW, EWU, UPS, APU) and got no interviews or admittance.

I am going back to school this fall full time in order to fix the prereqs I know I am missing and remediate the poor grades in some of the classes I already have.

I have worked two jobs as an aide in the past year so I do have some experience hours, however not as much as I would like.

I am hoping to hear some advice from you as to the best course of action to get into school for Fall 2011 or even Fall 2012. I am trying to figure out what are some of the schools that I have the best chance to get into given my history and credentials.

Undergrad - Pitzer College (Claremont, CA)
GPA - 2.79
PreReq GPA - 2.6
GRE - Verb. 650, Quant 730, Writing 4.5

Hours
-600 in outpatient orthopedic
-60 in acute care

Extracurriculars
-4 years of D1 rugby at Claremont, served as team Vice President

I had pretty good essays from my first go around, and I think my references were good as well.

Members don't see this ad.