Hope for Med School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doctor_inthe_making

5+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
I've recently transferred from a state school, to a smaller private school after my sophomore year. Unfortunately after becoming ill I missed a considerable amount of school during the fall semester of sophomore year and gpa dropped from a 3.18 to a 2.87. I had high hopes of recovering my gpa and repeating some classes from the previous semester going into the spring semester. That was all until I was assaulted on campus, and my sister became ill that I decided to withdraw. Over the summer I made the conscious decision to transfer to a different school for a fresh start.

I am now in my junior year as a biology major, and after taking some course over the summer my current gpa is a 3.9. I've currently got a job as a pharmacy technician, I'm beginning to volunteer at a hospital, and over winter break I'm going overseas to volunteer at a nonprofit clinic. I'm also planning on taking the MCAT over the summer as well as some summer courses. Currently I am doing well in all of my courses, and I'm wondering if I still have a chance at allopathic (MD) medical school? I worry that because of my previous gpa, and the fact that the private school isn't as well ranked as the state school, my chances are gone.
1) Transferring to a lower ranked school won't have much effect
2) If your first year's gpa is 2.9 and your second year is 3.9, then the combined is about 3.4 (guessing) which is lower than MD school matriculant's average and may put you at a disadvantage. (Assuming I haven't mis-read your post.)