Honest Assessement

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ButIwantneuro

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, long time lurker, first time poster here.

I am posting this because I am of late developing interest in Neurosurg (very late in the game), and I was wondering what my chances matching are, so please be brutally honest if at all possible.

I am a 4th year student, I loved all my rotations, but was initially thinking of going into Medicine...then switched to Neurology because I realized how much I love the brain...and now I am thinking of Neurosurg, because I realized I am going to miss working with my hands (I know right, then why medicine in the first place?)

My application is...rather weak: In short
I am a 4th year student currently at a mid-tear school

Step 1: 239
Step 2 CS: Pass

3rd Year Clerkships: Honored: 3/7 (Ob/Gyn, Family, Neurology)...Surgery shelf grade in "honors range" but did not honor (did NOT do Neurosurgery in 3rd year, did Ortho and Trauma instead).

4th year (basically littered with medicine electives): Optho, Cardio, Neprho, Medicine AI, Neuro AI - honored half of these. Currently doing Critical Care.

Was thinking of doing neurosurgery AI at my home school (solid program), get a letter or two, take Step 2 and do two away AIs in the middle of the interview season.

...do I have a chance?

Thank you,

Neurosurg Hopeful

Members don't see this ad.

Do a home subi and see if you like it. You'll need to do an away or two as well. Your score won't rule you out, but it's below average.