HKU MBBS 2012 Entry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ktan29

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Ladies and Gentlemen,

I want to pursue the MBBS course at HK in 2012 and hope that you guys could give me some information. This year, I am studying Veterinary Science at University of Queensland in Australia. The universities here use a scale similar to the IB, i.e. 1,2 and 3 is fail, 4 is pass, 5 is good, 6 is distinction and 7 is high distinction, I am told. I've heard that for transfer from first year university to HKU, you pretty much need a 3.9/4. How can I calculate the scaled GPA threshold given by my university? Is it a matter of using ratios for converting the scores? Also, after undertaking one year of university, will my high school results affect my application? I did the IB. (Also, does anyone know the required IB to get into Medicine @ HKU?) And is UMAT required? Will people studying science courses get preference over non-science courses? For those who study medicine @ HKU, what do you think of the course? Is it rigorous? Are they any breaks/vacations? For the NON-JUPAS entrances how many people could enter HKU in 2010? (Does anyone know where they publicize the information?)

Thanks!

ktan29

Members don't see this ad.

I'll be applying for 2012 entry as well! I'm from Canada so not sure how they will calculate your grades, have you tried e-mailing/calling the admissions office to find out?

wonder if there are anyone else applying to HKU MBBS (non jupas).... :)

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm applying from Canada too! I'm really not that confident in getting in but figured that I will give it a try anyway.

what are you guys studying? and which year are you in? :rolleyes:

I've just heard that HKU has a new 3-year vs 4-year curriculum this year. (ie 5 or 6 years for MBBS program) Can anyone shed some light on this?

Hey guys,