High School Student looking at Accelerated Programs

madmedic101

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm a high school student going to school in a Denver suburb looking at admission to a few accelerated medical programs, namely the UMKC six-year program, and just wanted to see how I stack up, and I also wanted to see what physicians/physicians-to-be think about these accelerated programs.

GPA: 4.18 (3.95 unweighted)
Class Rank: 15/450
ACT: 29
SAT: 1940
AP Biology: 4
AP Calculus: 5
Deputy Captain of Youth Medical Team (with 400 volunteer hours)
President of Math Engineering Science Association
Editor-in-Chief of the Newspaper
Academic Letter x6
UK Medical Research Council Internship (80-ish hours)
Senate Internship (100+ hours)

Thanks guys!

-MadMedic101

Members don't see this ad.

The numbers sound good.

Are you positive this is what you want? Can you handle the workload?

I personally don't like them, people in the 6yr programs tend to not have real life skills and experiences.

umkc's program is not good mainly because your undergraduate life is cut way short. Plus the training in UMKC isn't that superb from what I've heard

I disagree even with a few 7 year programs

For for a 8 year guaranteed program. PPSP, SLU med scholars, Bacc/MD USC, etc

Members don't see this ad :)
umkc's program is not good mainly because your undergraduate life is cut way short. Plus the training in UMKC isn't that superb from what I've heard

I've heard lots of conflicting things about the UMKC program. I do have some contacts that are graduates of that program located in various medical specialties and they all seem to be qualified physicians/researchers. I have had some trouble, however, locating hard statistics about this University. The one number I do have is that UMKC has a 94% residency matching rate.