High Numbers, Low Experiences. Help with list!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ch2m2617

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I am a white male from Ohio and my application is ready to go. My cGPA is a 3.96 and my sGPA is a 4.0 (damn english classes). Got my MCAT back two days ago at a 517 (130/128/130/129). However, I was really late in determining I wanted to be a doctor (thought I wanted to do research) so I have little clinical and volunteering experience. Right now I have about 60 hours of shadowing, few shifts in the ER and at a family practice facility. I have about 500 hours of research in organic medicinal chemistry at my university and am here for the summer working 4 days a week and shadowing one day. I started volunteering at a homeless shelter two nights a week this summer but only have 20 hours. Other than that I am a dive instructor and took my junior fall off because I was so ahead with credits to live abroad and teach. In the fall I have been accepted to join an organization that volunteers in the cancer center at my local hospital acting as a liaison to help patients understand their treatments. My pre-med committee denied to write me a committee letter based on my lack of experiences. With all of that I am just not sure where to aim. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

I would take a gap year if I were you, it would be a shame for you not to get in with your stats due to lack of experience.