This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

scps1234

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I would really like some advice on this! I am an incoming P1 student and I am considering skipping the first day of class. I have this huge family reunion I planned to go to and would have to miss the first day of class. I already booked the tickets and everything and emailed one of the peer advisors for advice but didn't get a response. Would it be really bad if I miss the first day? Will I miss anything important? Would the professor notice? Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Members don't see this ad.

Just do it...Don't worry....I skipped 60% of my class for first year and 90% during second year...Nothing happened.

Reactions: 1 users
Your school probably has some sort of orientation. I would check that schedule because they will likely not let you miss orientation.

Members don't see this ad :)
I didn't show up on my orientation, but I did make a phone call to the school stating emergency situation....and they were okay with that. I skipped nearly 60% lecture during P1 and 90% during P2. I only showed up on exam dates or review sessions. But back then my school didn't have attendance policy. I heard they changed it after (lol...maybe because of people like me).

Reactions: 2 users
Your school probably has some sort of orientation. I would check that schedule because they will likely not let you miss orientation.
We actually have orientation the week before so I won't be missing that! Just the first day.

first day is usually not that important anyways, especially if you have an event like that to go to. My first day of classes were just intros and syllabus

My school never took roll. Everyone takes the first couple months so serious and then they slack off the rest of the 4 years. Enjoy the first day off.

Reactions: 1 user