HELP PLEASE! Decided to go to Medical School for Ophthalmology and I'm lost

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OD Student 2018

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!!

Just a quick background....I am currently a 3rd year Optometry student with a Biology degree earned in 2013 (undergrad GPA 3.40). After starting clinic full time I realized that I would actually like to treat everything instead of referring anything optometrists can't treat to an ophthalmologist, I want to now become an ophthalmologist and I am really excited about it!! I know I should have thought about it earlier or done better research, but I have made peace with that and can happily finish my OD degree and then go to medical school, I love eyes and the more I study the more knowledgeable I'll be in my field and hopefully a better doctor! I'm also 24 now, so I think I'm still considered "young".

My question is, as a non-traditional student, would I have to shadow all over again even though I've been seeing patients for the past 2 years and I have done clerkships with ophthalmologists and know 2 of them (not really know them personally but acquainted and chat when I see them in our clinic)?

What classes would medical school look at more, my undergrad or grad (optometry) classes and grades?
When is the best time to take the MCAT if I plan on enrolling right after I graduate (hopefully :) May 2018?
What do you think my chances are of getting accepted into med school and getting into an ophthalmology residency?
I 100% understand just because I'll be an OD doesn't mean I will for sure get in, I believe I have to work and study hard for it but just your opinions would at least give me an idea or thoughts :)

ANY help or advice would be appreciated because I have not met any optometrists who have switched to ophthalmology in my area and you guys are my go to. I have been following the forum for a long time and I love it!!