help me

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

healthordie

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
i'm sure this has been addressed before but i found nothing on the subject. Currently I am trying to come to a decision between getting a postbacc-most likely an MS/MA degree, or an MPH degree.
I graduated with a 3.0. My worst gpa year was probably junior (personal stuff) but then senior was 3.6. I take the GRE's in a few weeks.
I feel that an MS/MA would maybe help my chances of med school but I also really want an MPH more so than the other (but I realize I can get it later)
Given my situation what would be a more logical course of action? Anyone in similar situations (or have been)? Can I even get into any mph programs realistically?
Any help would be much appreciated

Members don't see this ad.

You would have a shot at an MPH program if you can clearly articulate your reasons for wanting to get an MPH and how you plan to use your public health training.

However, if you are more immediately interested in going to med school, I'd really recommend a post-bacc program instead. These are really geared towards helping people get into med school (duh!), and I think they do a good job of helping people prepare. Also, people I've known who started MPH programs as a stop-gap measure before med school didn't seem to find the program very fulfilling.

I don't mean to discourage you from pursuing an MPH prior to med school if you are very enthusiastic about the public-health aspect of your career (in which case, go for it!), but you might have better success with a post-bacc as far as getting your medical career underway. And MPH programs are usually thrilled to take people who have started med school already.

I am currently duing MPH-Epidemiology, and I am accepted to Medical School already.