Help me prepare for M1

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

working_hard1

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I start my MD/PhD program in a few weeks, and am super nervous about doing well in school. I studied biomedical engineering, and memorizing was never my strong suit. Is there anything I should do to prepare for the workload or anything I should familiarize myself with that will help me do well? I did poorly my first year of college and cannot afford to have that same behavior during M1. I'd appreciate all and any advice!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Don't actually pre-study, but it might help to chat with some current students about resources they find useful and just briefly peruse those to see what works for your learning style. Download Anki and mess around with it a little and read some articles on using it efficiently to see if it might be a tool that will work for you. Would also encourage you to sit down with your school's academic success team or whatever they call it where you are early on to develop a study plan.

Beyond that, focus on your wellness - learn some quick, healthy recipes, figure out what you need to keep yourself sane, exercise regularly, etc. You've got this!!

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello! I start my MD/PhD program in a few weeks, and am super nervous about doing well in school. I studied biomedical engineering, and memorizing was never my strong suit. Is there anything I should do to prepare for the workload or anything I should familiarize myself with that will help me do well? I did poorly my first year of college and cannot afford to have that same behavior during M1. I'd appreciate all and any advice!
No need to pre-study, enjoy your last bit of freedom. You will have plenty of time to study your life away and figure out study strategies that work for you so seriously don't worry right now....